Blackness

This could get awkward. Oh wait, it already is.

Ladies and gents, classes have officially started. My main purpose of going to Korea was to learn Korean, so I’m enrolled in the afternoon intensive Korean program at the Korean Language Education Center (KLEC) here at Sogang and am also taking Political Psychology. Poli Psy (I’m super clever, huh?) will be interesting because of the material but definitely not the teacher. If I do the assigned readings, I might as well not go to class as he teaches directly from the textbook and adds nothing else. Unfortunately, attendance counts and I can’t really miss anything. Cool.

Enough of that class, and onto the Korean intensive classes. We had to take a placement test and I was super duper pooper scooper nervous that I would be placed in a low level. There are 6 levels and I was shooting for level 3, as I’ve been taking Korean for 2 years. They posted our results on the bulletin board at the KLEC and I anxiously checked it. I’m in level 4! Wooooo! Yeahhhh! Aw shoooot! Not gonna lie, I’m pretty proud of myself. On to my first day of Korean class!! Story time!

Class is on the 8th floor and there are only two elevators which always have huge lines. Up the stairs I go to room 808.  Outside of the room, there’s a list of names of everybody in the class. My name was first and the rest of them were Chinese excluding two Southeast Asian names. Oh, and the vast majority of them already know each other. Oh my. This could get awkward. No! It’s ok! I can handle this! I’ve been the only black person in classes in America before. Goal: Befriend ALL of the classmates!! 

Day one, so far no good. I’m super intimidated by the class material and nobody in class seems to want to give me the time of day. I reach out to a Thai student who also looks left out. We bond for about 2 mins. *mini victory* There’s hope. 

Day two, the Thai student and I connect about not being able to speak Chinese and how nobody talks to us. Things are looking up. 

Day three (today), the Thai student and the aforementioned other southeast Asian (from Laos) realize that they can speak the same language and now only talk to each other in said language. Christina sits by herself. All hope is lost. 

So folks, that’s the current status of my social standing in Korean class. I really want to get to know everybody. I meet people so easily in the States. Darn culture shock. Get over yourself, Christina. You’ve only had  3 days of class. We’ll see how this goes.

Onward and upward,

Christina

4 thoughts on “This could get awkward. Oh wait, it already is.

  1. Hi, the one thing that you all have in common is that you’re all trying to learn the Korean language. Did you try practicing Korean with some of the students, instead of speaking English? Some of the students might appreciate not speaking Chinese, if they want to really get something out of the experience. Maybe inviting someone out to lunch, with the goal of practicing the language as the goal and also getting to know them better; of course, might work. Not knowing Chinese might actually be a blessing. Well, just a thought. You may have already tried this. Love you.

Leave a Reply

